Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Tubeless for cyclo cross racing
  • matt-lewis
    Free Member

As above. selling my tubulars and hopefully going to tubeless for cross racing. Anyone got any good combos or is it a bad idea due to low pressures when the mud sets in? A long way off I know.

Cheers,

Matt

plop_pants
    Free Member

Must admit I”m hedging my bets, one bike with tubs and the other with tubeless. I’m new to tubeless and have heard stories of burping at low pressures so will use them for fast dry courses at first with >25psi gradually reducing psi. I’ve run my tubs at 17/18 psi in mud with no problems but don’t think the tubeless will cope that low without losing air.

dovebiker

Most serious CX riders still run tubs as tubeless isn’t as reliable at low pressures

Garry_Lager

I do as Mr Pants and run one set of each. Tubeless setup was vittoria cross XL on grails, and honestly was 1% of the effort to set-up compared to tubs. Went on easy, inflate, ride – zero problems racing (I’m large so usually ride 25 +/-, would never ride sub 20).

Quite interesting to compare side by side – I actually preferred tubeless in the corners, esp cornering on a descent, because I like the way the stiffer carcass stands up. For outright grip, though, the tubulars ruled. We did one very heavy race in a deluge of wet mud and the tub bike was obviously better on the climbs.

legend
    Free Member

Vittoria Terreno Wets on WTB rims here. Last race dropped them to 18PSi, hit many roots and the like, no issues whatsoever. Had been gradually dropping pressure since getting them. However, they were also the best tubeless combo for setting up I’ve ever used (including mtb) so that may have helped

r8jimbob88
    Free Member

I really should have done some research into CX tyre pressures before running 35psi and wondering why I was going nowhere on the climbs!

pdw
    Free Member