Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Tow bar trailer or bike rack for VW T6?
  • zelak999
    Free Member

Anybody had experience with both and recommend which is the best way to go?

bumbly1
    Free Member

VW own brand rack is good but expensive. Genuinely fits four bikes and has good strap length. Fiamma racks tend to corrode in my experience and strap fitting is imprecise. I have no experience of tow ball racks.

Tom

steveh

If you have a rear spoiler vw or fiamma racks won’t work. For towbar I’d only have aiston now having used them all before. Industrial looking but very solid.

JefWachowchow
    Free Member

I have a T5 and had the VW boot lid rack.

I found it too high to be convenient and too big to store if I ever took it off, which took ages.

I now use a tow bar rack which I find much easier to use. I take it off when not using it as it’s a fraction of the size of the boot lid one and takes seconds to fit

zelak999
    Free Member

Thanks for the replies.

@steveh
    where could i find more info on the aiston rack?

survivor

Should be http://www.aistoncycleracks.co.uk but it’s not up anymore.

Hope that doesn’t mean what I’m thinking it does as the lovely bloke who made them was getting on a bit. 😥

Stoner
    Free Member

I used to have a fiamma on the T4. Never really liked it, and it freaked a bit going over a railway crossing while fully laden, putting a small bend in the support arms. I fitted a tow ball and have used a sliding arm Altera rack since very happily.

postierich
    Free Member

Got a VW one and its very tight getting 4 bikes on with lots off faff no issues with height looking at putting a tow bar on to put a luggage rack on underneath the rack for awning and other camping bits.
    Good rack would recommend don’t think I will ever take it off
    [url=https://flic.kr/p/M54gWW]Untitled[/url] by Richard Munro, on Flickr

zelak999
    Free Member

Thats a nice pic postierich!! especially on this cold Winters day!