Viewing 35 posts - 1 through 35 (of 35 total)
  • Tow bar installation/compatibility – how the hell does it all work?!!!
  • coolbeanz
    Free Member

OK, so I’m looking to buy a new car. One of my requirements is to be able to fit a tow bar, so that I can mount a bike rack on it.

I’m an absolute noob to this subject, so I’d like to know the following:

– Can a tow bar be installed to any conventional car?
    – Do most cars come with a pre-existing fitting to which an external hook and ball can be simply slotted into, or does a support frame need to be installed under the chassis first?
    – Will any tow bar cope with the weight of a bike rack with 2-3 bikes on it?
    – What’s the approximate cost of the parts needed (excluding bike rack)?

Thanks in advance!

nickjb
    Free Member

Simple answer is that it depends. Some cars have the bits pre-fitted and you just need the actual ball unit (usually a bespoke part at a high price from a dealer), some cars need a kit to add some structural elements. More common cars may have aftermarket options. Either way it will be very specific to the exact car model. Then there is electrics. A lot of cars have a universal socket fitted so its easy others you need to hack into the loom. Any rack should cope with a bike or three. That is a very low load compared to a trailer, in fact some are only rated for carrying bikes and not towing. Probably best to google for prices, don’t forget fitting

Murray

Most cars can be fitted
    Cars come with pre-existing mounting points or you may have to replace the rear cross member with one that has the mounting points (that’s what I had to do with my A3)
    Pretty much yes but check your car’s handbook for nose weight and don’t carry 3 e-bikes!
    I paid £567 fully fitted including electrics and coding from PF Jones for a detachable swan neck towbar.

Blackflag
    Free Member