• This topic has 12 replies, 11 voices, and was last updated 4 years ago by aP.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Tough gravel tyres
  • munrobiker
    Free Member

I’ve been using my gravel bike for about 4 months now and am already on the second set of tyres and am still having no luck. I’ve had some 120tpi Clement Xplor Ushs in 35c and now a set of Continental Speed Rides in 42c.

The Clements died when a rock slashed the sidewall. I’d already had about 4 punctures with them in a month. The Contis I’ve had on for about 3 months and have had around 15 punctures (of which half have been from bits of glass putting tiny holes in). I run the rear tubeless and the front has a tube in it now because it won’t hold tubeless. Last night the rear died too – air is leaking very quickly from the bead in a really weird puncture that can’t be repaired.

I ride it to and from work, on tarmac as a winter trainer, I’ve done a bit of off road touring around the Cairngorms on it and once a week I take it to the Pentland hills and do what would have been a pleasant mountain bike ride on them. The bulk of the punctures from sharp objects happen on my commute or when I’m on a long ride along the canal, the bulk of the pinches and slashes happen in the Pentlands. I run 60psi.

I’m after a tyre with a puncture protection belt in a size somewhere between 40 and 45c that is reasonably pinch puncture resistant. No reviews seem to mention this, only puncture resistance to sharp stuff. It appears a tyre <500g won’t handle it. In a perfect world it’d have a smooth central section and some decent side knobs. They must work tubeless.

I’ve ruled out the Panaracer Gravel King because my mate who I was out with killed his on the same ride last night.

Does anyone have any ideas? The list so far includes-

Planet X Rock N Roads

Schwalbe Marathon GT

The new Schwalbe Hurricane (although the perfect on would be with their Dual Guard casing which they don’t make in 700c)