Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • …to Garmin or not to Garmin?
  • Premier Icon trisysjoint

I guess quite a few of you guys use gps on your bikes.
    Which one is best for putting OS maps onto for route following (gpx file) offroad?

Real world usage experiences needed here before I buy one in the jan sales

Thanks

Premier Icon LadyGresley
    Free Member

I have no experience of other brands, but my old Garmin Edge 800 with OS mapping has been brilliant.

Premier Icon steve_b77
    Free Member

Garmins are great until they go wrong and then they’re shite.

My 520 lasted about 12 months before the battery deteriorated to the point where it could do no more than 6 hours (with a couple of sensors paired) without getting the 20% warning sign.

Bought a Wahoo Elemnt Bolt, far superior battery life, nicer user interface.

Premier Icon trisysjoint

@steve_b77 – what is the mapping like on the wahoo? as good as ordnance survey 1:50 ??

Premier Icon Merak
    Free Member

All the cool kids are using Wahoo now.

Premier Icon trisysjoint

The Wahoo does look nice but that 2 tone screen doesn’t seem to display the map as clearly as some of the full colour screen devices.
    Have any of you used the Wahoo for out in the wilds pre planned route following?
    Do you also need to convert gpx files to be compatible with the Wahoo?

Premier Icon trail_rat
    Free Member

“Bought a Wahoo Elemnt Bolt, far superior battery life, nicer user interface.”

and how has that lasted beyond the 12 months ?

Premier Icon chakaping

I’d suggest the Garmin 520 Plus (must be the plus).

But only for route following, not navigating on the fly – they’re all a bit crap for that with the small screens.

Premier Icon scotroutes

Avoid the Garmin Edge series and buy an Etrex or Oregon.

Premier Icon scud