Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 67 total)
  • To EMTB or not at age 59
  • muddipete
    Free Member

So at 59 years old seriously considering a EMTB, maybe a Whyte E160, I’m pretty fit for my age and not looking to move totally away from analogue bikes but I spend alot of time in the Derbyshire peaks and I’m thinking I’ll get more fun on some of the hillier trails being able to session the downhills if I’m not breathing out my arse up the big climbs and then not having to the energy to climb back up again. Anyone gone through to he same thought process and what are the pros and cons?

honourablegeorge

Sounds like you’d enjoy it, so if you can afford it, go for it.

escrs
    Free Member

Who cares what age you are, if you enjoy riding them and want one then go for it!

Im 46 and ive been riding emtb’s for 4 years now, ive still got a normal mtb, road bike and a BMX and i try and get out them when i have more than 2 hours spare

For rides under 2 hours which can include getting to and from the riding spot then i take the emtb, i can blast up the hills, have fun on the downs and get back home to do family stuff for the rest of the day and still feel like ive had a good ride

MTB for me is about fun not fitness (i have the road bike for that) an emtb makes mtb’ing even more fun!

FOG

I treated myself when I was 70 for much the same reasons you mention. I still ride my normal bikes regularly but for those days when you are lacking energy and motivation it gets me out. Just do it.

chiefgrooveguru

I’m 44 and have had a Levo for over 4 years that I use for commuting and MTBing (my commute has fun bits!) and a singlespeed hardtail that’s my main local MTBing bike. They might seem an odd pair but they get on very well.