Viewing 34 posts - 1 through 34 (of 34 total)
  • This evening on my way home in the car I was overtaken by….
  • esselgruntfuttock
    Free Member

A Robin Reliant. & it wasn’t Del Boy or Rodders. (It was yellow though)

Reg no was H182 something, & it had trade plates on.

I was doing about 55mph in a 60.

Sorry.

perchypanther
    Free Member

Del Boy drove a Regal.

Just sayin’

hodgynd
    Free Member

Sorry ..is that you apologising or the state of the Reliant ?

The fact that you have come straight out and admitted to it should get you some sympathy ..

RoterStern
    Free Member

When I was a student in Birmingham used to work with a guy who collected the things. He had four or five of them. This was back in the 90s and he used to style his hair like in the 50´s and wear pullovers like the other David Jason character, Granville. He must have been near retirement age back then and still lived with his mother. He ofetn offered to give me a lift home when it was raining but I always refused for some reason.

CountZero

I’m sure it’s possible to stuff a motorcycle engine in a Reliant and get some sort of silly speed out of it, but making sure the damn thing doesn’t fall over and do the dying fly on the first reasonable bend is something else.

raybanwomble
    Free Member

The only Top Gear episode that has made me laugh hard – was the one where they spent most of the show crashing a Robin Reliant.

Still gives me a smile…

perchypanther
    Free Member

I once named a Strava segment after a Reliant Robin called the Plastic Pig that we used to drive off-road on a fire road through the woods when we were teenagers.

True Story

esselgruntfuttock
    Free Member

TBF If I’d dared re-overtaken him I wouldv’e doffed my cap! He was flying down the road between Ferrensby & Minskip (North Yorks)

GlennQuagmire
    Free Member

TBF If I’d dared re-overtaken him I wouldv’e doffed my cap! He was flying down the road between Ferrensby & Minskip (North Yorks)