Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • The effect of Chinese factory closures?
  • globalti
    Free Member

I work in the chemicals industry and people are already scanning the horizon for clouds gathering thanks to closure of manufacturing plants in China. We suffered huge shortages in 2018/19 when a BASF factory in Germany blew up and then by an astonishing coincidence two Indian factories also making key raw materials burned down. Industry generally operates very slim nowadays so it won’t take long for European manufacturers to start buying up available Chinese feedstocks and prices to begin to increase, again, just as we are recovering from the 2018/19 crisis. This matters to everybody because somehow everything you buy contains elements that can be traced back to China.

binners

On a positive note all the Chinese factories shutting down means less carbon dioxide so global warming is a no longer an issue. We’re all saved!!! We’re no longer going to be boiled alive or end up underwater!!! Huzzah!!!

dangeourbrain
    Free Member

Several of my suppliers have notified us their (Al) extrusion is now delayed, plastics and electronics too. Upwards of 2 weeks for the extrusion no indication on the plastic or tech but I imagine that’s into the days or weeks already

That’s everything from food packing to iPhones then.

cheers_drive

It could be quite a shock to the global economy if they don’t contain it in the next 2 weeks. We try to make everything in the UK but a few things have to be done in China. The workers have all gone back to their villages for Chinese New Year and won’t be able to travel back to the cities until the travel ban is lifted.

dangeourbrain
    Free Member

It could be quite a shock to the global economy

Sure I read somewhere but now can’t find it forecast was up to 3% of China gdp, thats a huge knock-on.