Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 53 total)
  • Tell me about External BB Cranksets then? Are they Shi’ite?
  • HTTP404
    Free Member

Been backing off from external BB cranksets for a while now, but I’m sure many STWers have been using for a significant time now.
    One of the great praises of the external BB design is their “stifness”. That’s their only one isn’t it? Seeing as the BBs don’t seem to last that long and there is no significant weight loss over the older designs.

My question then is – even if the BB is stiffer – once mounted in a frame that flexes under rider pedal input – is the benefit of a stiffer BB really there at all? is there any benefit?

I’m just wondering if the external BB design fixing something that was never really a broke (excepting ISIS).

shortcut

I have been running Shimano XT cranks on both bikes for about 3 years now. The Bottom brackets last quite a long time, the XTR ones and Hope ones seem to be very good. BB’s are definately better than ISIS, by some significant measure.

Getting cranks on and off is very easy. All in all, I think they are pretty good.

As for stiffness, to be honest I can’t tell the difference.

Stoner
    Free Member

the cranksets are great.

the BB design is bobbins though.

Middleburn & square taper here.
    I dont use electricity either.

nickc

They’re better than they were, and you can get (mostly) a reasonable life span out of a set of external BB’s with a bit of care and attention now and again.

HTTP404
    Free Member

And Shimano get to sell more cranksets and replacement external BBs … they’d probably taken the existing one to it’s limit.

But eff all benefit to the MTBer tho?

I’ve certainly never complained about the stiffness of the BB and noticed frame flex more when mashing the pedals uphill (with a good even stroke 🙂 ).

nickc