Viewing 28 posts - 1 through 28 (of 28 total)
  • Tell me about air source heat pumps
  • DrJ

I’m looking to buy a house which has a ASHP installed; I’m wondefring what I can expect in terms of savings, and what I need to check before signing on the dotted line, for example, will the radiators be big enough, how can it be used in conjunction with a gas boiler (if at all) and solar panels.

Basically, I’m looking for some simple basics from folk who have practical experience.

Bear
    Free Member

ASHP are fine, savings will depend how you use it and how well it was installed, what make it is and how it is controlled.

If design was done properly the radiators should have been sized according to the designed flow temperature. But the pipework would have to be also sized accordingly.

Not all ASHP are equal, not all installers are competent.

I work in the industry now and there are several mis-conceptions about them, as a company we have installed heat pumps in buildings ranging from modern through to a castle. They work in all of them but the design is critical.

honeybadgerx

Whereabouts in the UK is it? That can have a significant impact on efficiency. As bear says, lots of things to factor in including insulation, air tightness, any solar gain the property may get, etc.

soundb0y
    Free Member

You will use a lot more electricity than you think in the winter.

dovebiker

Freddie’s Field