• This topic has 36 replies, 20 voices, and was last updated 11 years ago by br.
Viewing 37 posts - 1 through 37 (of 37 total)
  • Talk to me about…. Living in London
  • alwillis

So I am a very lucky graduate with a job lined up starting in August. I will be based between Bank and St Pauls in the City (working at http://www.altitudecentre.com for those interested).

What I would like to know is how to make the best out of living within 10-15 miles of the centre of London (so its an easy bike commute).

What is the best way to get a MTB fix if its worth it, or should I just bring the roadie and get more serious about racing that?

Any tips for groups/clubs for road or MTB- looks like I will be living north of the centre.

What gems of the south east should a guy from Burnley be checking out in my first few months- riding and non riding (got to fill up my weekends somehow!)

Mackem

I dont remember the exact train links for commuting to Bank, but Wimbledon is a great place for a biker/city worker to live. The common/richmond park are ok for an after work mtb blast and these link up to other areas that are worth a ride. You’ve got the Downs and other bits and bobs for the weekends.
    The Surrey countryside is nice for road-riding too.

alwillis

That’s just the kind of tip I was looking for thanks! Any advances on Wimbledon?

br
    Free Member

Two MTB choices really, west (the Chilterns) and south (North Downs). Both are excellent and have miles upon miles of singletrack. Plus Epping is ace, when dry.

Where you live though, depends on budget.

For me, if I was young and single I’d live as close to work as possible.

geetee1972
    Free Member

You would be better living south of the river as you’ll be a lot closer to the riding on the Surrey Hills. The Downs are OK (north downs more interesting than the south downs, but niether are as good as the Surrey Hills).