Viewing 38 posts - 1 through 38 (of 38 total)
  • Talk to me about boxing gloves
  • chipps

In a fit of post-Christmas fitness, I’ve joined a gym (I’d been planning to anyway, but I’m lumping it in with New Year Self-Improvement so I’ve got an excuse when I give it up in February…)

Anyway, my local gym is an amateur boxing club – that just happens to do a regular fitness class. It’s a lot more ‘sweaty realism’ than ‘Well-lit, mirrored boxercise to high tempo tunes’. There’s one CD on constant replay and it’s run by an ex-boxer.

Anyway, there’s a mix of aerobic exercise (running, floor stuff etc) and punchbag stuff, with occasional light sparring. There’s a selection of quite grungy old boxing/bag gloves to borrow, but many are splitting, or worn, or just plain gross 🙂 There are proper gloves to borrow, but I’m after whatever’s going to be best for a bit of hitting bags and stuff.

I’d like to get some gloves to take along and use, but being a complete noob, I don’t want to be the boxing equivalent of a first time mountain biker on a £50 supermarket bike in the Peaks, or on a £4K bike in the Peaslake car park.

Anyone have any suggestions? There seems to be a large price range, along with many weights, quality and so on…

Drac

Depends, are you wanting to be a big hitter?

Jamie
    Free Member

I have these ones for bag work:

…means I can also poke people in the eye.

brakes
    Free Member

these might be a bid advanced for you…

chipps

Those are definitely my colour, brakes 😉

Kryton57

May I suggest asking the question on Boxingtrackworld? FYI Chipps, this is a bike forum….

😉

CountZero

Reading the thread title, I thought the OP had been caught perusing the pr0n… 😆

Jamie
    Free Member

Reading the thread title, I thought the OP had been caught perusing the pr0n…

How?

chipps

But Kryton, we know that all the people on Boxingtrackworld come here anyway when they want some real advice. 🙂
    Although one sensible answer in ten is probably to be expected…