Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 44 total)
  • Surly Cross Check vs Planet X Kaffenback
  • flyingmonkeycorps

I’ve narrowed down my choice of do it all commuter / adventurer / whatever bike to the Cross Check and the Kaffenback. For now, anyway. I want to be able to:

Ride 10 miles on the road at a reasonable pace. I’m not good at getting up in a morning.
    Take a much more circuitous route home, possibly involving singletrack, woods, mud and gravel.
    Fit mudguards. The less filthy I get the better.
    Fit a rack and panniers. I’d quite like to do pseudo touring (ie. ride to a B&B and meet the Mrs or ride to a friends house 60 miles away then ride back the next day. That kind of thing. I might even do some overnight bivvying).
    Not have to clean it much. If at all. Sadly the Alfine Kaff doesn’t fit into the C2W scheme (it’s £100 too much).

The Kaffenback is tempting, ‘cos On-One currently have an offer for a grand with some super high end kit – apparently SRAM Red is very good.

The Surly is tempting because it looks ace, and apparently is super good to ride. Plus I’ll soon kill the drivetrain and have to replace it anyway. Possibly with an Alfine or similar.

What would YOU buy?

Big-Dave
    Free Member

Can’t speak for the Kaffenback but I have a Cross Check and love it. However, the Kaffenback is now disc brake compatible and you are limited to V’s or cantis on the Surly.

On the plus side the Cross Check has great clearance for both fat tyres and mudguards.

TBH if I was in the market for a new bike the Kaffenback would probably trump the Cross Check for the quality of kit and the disc brakes. I’d still keep my Surly though; its ace.

thisisnotaspoon
    Free Member

Mudguards (rather suprisingly) are a really bad idea in mud as in order to work they need to be ~5mm from the tyre, leavingno room for mud to accumulate.

flyingmonkeycorps

I’m not *that* bothered about discs I don’t think… It’s mostly flat around here, so rim brakes should be fine.