Viewing 38 posts - 1 through 38 (of 38 total)
  • Superstar Switch Evo hubs….talk to me
  • therealhoops
    Free Member

I’ve no experience with Superstar other than their brake pads. What are their wheelsets like? Get what you pay for OR genuine bargain????

kevj
    Free Member

I have a set and can’t fault them. Although that is somewhat of a lie. My mojo came with Ibis branded hubs which turned out to be Novatech, which in turn are superstar switch.

I keep thinking about upgrading, but they just work. Run smooth and overall build is light.

Not sure if superstar use the same bearings, but that’s a small change if necessary.

kayak23

I’ve been using the Switch hubbed wheels for donkeys. Not a single issue.
    Well impressed with their xc rims which I’ve been seriously unkind to.
    Never had a problem with the hubs at all in a few years use.

Someone will be along in a minute to tell you you’ll die.

lungman

Build quality can be variable.last pair I had the spokes where very loose and had to be tensioned/tightened independently ok after.

bigjim

I had a terrible build on the wheelset I bought. The hubs are rebranded Novatec, not bad, but not Hope kinda quality.

stcolin
    Free Member

I have Switch EVO hubs built onto EN321’s. Decent hubs but the bearings lasted about 5 months which I expected for the price.

fitnessischeating
    Free Member

I have switch on flow 29s….

the rear wheel lost spoke tension, so i nipped them up, and the wheel went well out of true, and I struggled to get right.

I took it the the LBS to avoid testing the SS CS, and they trued it but said could not dish correctly, and was displaced across to the NDS, the guy said he thought the wrong length spokes were used.

So I took it back to SS.
    The wheel came back with no report or info, but was true, and dished correctly, and didn’t have new spokes (that i could tell)

Take from that what you will, I was satisfied

andyrm
    Free Member