Suggest places for me to live on the outskirts of Stockport (ish)

• This topic has 12 replies, 9 voices, and was last updated 4 months ago by  IHN.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Suggest places for me to live on the outskirts of Stockport (ish)
  • edward2000

We are looking to move house but cant seem to settle on a location. We live in south Manchester but we want to move somewhere to a bigger house. Minimum 3 bed ideally 4. We would like to be able to ride from the doorstep however as I work in sales, access to the motorway network is important. We were considering Disley but the traffic I believe around there now the new bypass is open seems awful according to the local fb group. We’ve mentioned Poynton, Marple, even Bollington. Any suggestions or comments?

Premier Icon Garry_Lager
    Subscriber

Hazy G, our kid.

Ride from the doorstep, road or dirt, new bypass will put you on the 56 no prob, palatial abodes.

Premier Icon AlexSimon
    Subscriber

Here in Bollington, it’s definitely got the riding from the door thing sorted and it’s a nice community slightly detached from the sprawl of Manchester.

But it is a bit detached from the motorway network – to get on the M6 South, it’s about half an hour. M56 is quicker as long as it’s not rush hour. M60 is about 25mins.

Cycle commute to Stockport is straightforward (Middlewood Way to Marple), but maybe that doesn’t apply to you.

3/4 bed houses are expensive and you really need a driveway as parking is getting ridiculous.

Whaley Bridge is a bit cheaper. I’ve always thought Chinley was a good option too.

Premier Icon julians
    Subscriber

Marple seems to fit the bill based on your description of what you’re after.

If you drop the riding from the door requirement or are happy to do a few miles of road to get to decent off road then places like davenport, woods Moor, Bramhall, woodford become options.

mattrgee