Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Straight pull spokes.
  • chip
    Free Member

Was thinking about buying a stans flow ex wheel set.
    What are the advantages of the SP option and is it worth the extra expense.

Thanks in advance,

alibongo001

Hi Chip

I am no expert, but would guess that the lack of elbow (the bit where the spoke bends through the hole in the hub with a “pip” at the end may make them stronger.

I have just bought some shimano road wheels with straight pull spokes on this basis as the old wheels were pinging spokes frequently at that point –

I am sure someone more knowledgeable will be along in a minute to say that I am wrong!

HTH

njee20
    Free Member

That’s the supposed advantage. In reality they’re a pain to true, spares are hard to come by (although Hope carry spares for their wheels, so less of an issue at home) and they offer little real world advantage! It’s a no from me.

tommyhine

My shimano RS10 and RS30 wheelsets both break at the nipple all the time and it takes about a week and a half on average to get spares in.

they spin around in the hub when you try and true them.

I’m not going that way again thats for sure.

I’m a heavy rider though so do put them through the ringer a bit.

bruneep

Advantage:
    I got a cheap SP stans flow wheelset as no one would buy. Got spare spokes online and carry them as spares in my handlebars.

Disadvantage: none

Northwind

No performance advantage imo, potentially fiddly, and spares availability is crap. But Hope gets round the worst of that as they carry spokes for their models and they supply spares with the wheels. It’s still pretty pointless though, I wish my straightpull wheels weren’t.

Still, if you later decide to rebuild the hub onto a different rim you may struggle for choice and even availability.

soulwood
    Free Member