Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 40 total)
  • Stans Arch EX – shallow aren't they
  • yoshimi

I’ve been toying with the idea of replacing my XM819’s with these.

They sound good weight wise and plenty strong.

But, I’ve heard someone talking about tyre blow of’s on some stans rims unless a rimstrip is used; at that point the weight savings are less. These Arch EX rims look very shallow.

Anyone got any real world experiences of these?

druidh
    Free Member

No. But as a pair of rims just arrived in the post for me I’ll be very interested in the responses to this thread.

Hob-Nob
    Free Member

I’ve been using some for 8 months now. P*key tubeless with electrical tape & Maxxis UST valves.

I’ve used various tyres on them from Spec 2Bliss, to Maxxis EXO, to dual ply Maxxis.

I’ve raced DH on them, done the Mega, done another week in the Alps & various Gravity Enduro events.

No issues at all. When i’m not crashing, I don’t hang about. Thumbs up so far. 🙂

They are quite shallow though, I did notice that when building them up. Also DP Maxxis were a challenge to get on them.

clubber
    Free Member

I have Arch EX rims on my CX. they take 60psi happily enough.

therag
    Free Member

No problems here, but I did use the tape. Ps They’re on eBay now as not needed for new bike. 🙂

nosedive
    Free Member

I thought that the new version of Arch had the new type of bead hook that was supposed to be more reliable than the old version (despite the fact they are shallower)

andyl
    Free Member

I think they just brought them inline with the current crest and old (and new) flow rims?

robsoctane
    Free Member

@nosedive: exactly right and no problem at all with my set, they get thrashed every ride, about 100 miles per week.

bigdugsbaws
    Free Member

2 blown off Schwalbe tyres on my 29er versions. Kind of dents your confidence in them but replaced with Specialized 2Bliss tyres that seem reliable.

chris_db
    Free Member

New Flows look well tasty too!