Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 44 total)
  • Stans Arch EX problems
  • bigdugsbaws
    Free Member

Anyone else experienced tyre blow offs on Stans EX or Crest 29er rims?

This has happened on two occasions with different tyres and wheels in the last week, luckily whilst inflating. Both tyres let go at about 30psi despite having very tight beads and I’m wondering if its a consequence of the stupidly low rim height as several years use of Flows and old Arch rims has never yielded the same problem with the same tyres.

steve_b77
    Free Member

What tyres are you using? & Are you using Yellow tape or rim strips?

Stans no longer recommend the use of any Schwalbe tyres.

I’ve been using Specialized 2bliss tyres for 8 months and not had an issue on my 29’er Crests with Yellow tape, generally run betwen 24 & 29psi too.

Just switched to Mud-X’s (for Mayhem) and despite the fact I could get them on without tyre levers, they went up easily with a tack pump with a satisfying ping as the bead seated.

bigdugsbaws
    Free Member

Stans no longer recommend the use of any Schwalbe tyres.

Never knew that 😯

Running yellow tape and tyres were Nobby Nic 2012 Snakeskin/Geax AKA TNT. May try the Spesh tyres as have had them in mind for a while, are the sidewalls beefy enough?

toons
    Free Member

Yes i’ve had that problem 2x on flow rims; once in the garage blowing up the tyre and once on the trail!

Onzadog
    Free Member

Does the schwalbe restriction just apply to the mk II rims or the old ones as well? Just considering a hd ust for my flow rims.

bigdugsbaws
    Free Member

Just reading that it applies to all rims, they state it is a changing tyre issue. I have an HD/Flow combo too and it works flawlessly even without sealant (crosses fingers).

dirtyrider
    Free Member

how odd considering stan’s make schwalbe doc blue fluid

Onzadog
    Free Member