Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Staff Redundancy – Been asked to ‘represent’ a member of staff
  • TheLittlestHobo
    Free Member

I am relatively new to the company myself (6mths). I am doing well and have kept my head down.

The lady in question has asked me to go into the one on one meeting with her as she feels i will have a fresh look on everything. Trouble is i wont have any outlook on it. I dont really know her (Or what she does in the dept) and i have no experience of what i should be doing on her behalf. Regardless of what i do or dont think of her i wouldnt want to let her down so what should i be doing?

chakaping
    Free Member

Just take notes on her behalf really.

If things become heated, if she gets upset or if you suspect HR/management is trying to pull a fast one – call a quick time out and take her out of the room for a few minutes.

That’s all I had to do as a union rep, though I’d sometimes ask pertinent questions related to redundo process if my members didn’t remember to.

hora
    Free Member

Just take notes on her behalf really.

If things become heated, if she gets upset or if you suspect HR/management is trying to pull a fast one – call a quick time out and take her out of the room for a few minutes.

Personally? I’d just take notes. I wouldnt even feel comfortable being there (not knowing her etc etc) to get involved further than notes.

TheLittlestHobo
    Free Member

Thats just it. I dont know any pertinent questions….

The meeting is a prelim meeting with each member of staff in that dept. I think its so that they can put their respective points across about why the company is looking at making someone in that dept redundant and possibly for her to make a case for her job. I dont even know what it is she does.

I am not one for backing out of stuff but this isnt really my scence. I do happy jolly stuff.

thisisnotaspoon
    Free Member