Sorry more DH questions Super Star DH wheels peoples experience

Home Forum Bike Forum Sorry more DH questions Super Star DH wheels peoples experience

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Sorry more DH questions Super Star DH wheels peoples experience
  • Jeffus

Been looking at Wheelsets Superstar hubs , Mavic 729 rims sapin spokes and brass nipples , sounds a good build for £199 , rims must be bullet proof and 2 year warranty sounds great.

toys19

Ordinarily I am a superstar evangelist, I’ve had three sets of superstar wheels with no bother. But my mate last weekend had flows on superstar hubs 2nd ride, and the rear wheel went out of true with the loosest spokes I have ever ever seen. I am not sure how or why it happened, but i suspect it might be lack of lubrication on the spoke/nipple thread. I’ve been building wheels for 25 years and I’ve only ever seen spokes off when I forgot to lube the nipples during the build.

So I would still be happy to buy them, but run round each nipple with a drop of three in one, wipe clean, and check for tightness often until you are sure it is all good..

In my experience the hubs are utterly bomb proof.

Karl33to

Been running the AMX’s for the past 12 months of DH / Alps / Lakes and they have held up OK-ish, the front I haven’t had a problem with, but the rear has needed the occasional bit of re-tensioning.

No probs at all with the hubs though. I’d imagine they’d be great with some 729’s on them. Infact I was only considering upgrading to some last night myself.

Jeffus

So quite positive so far for the money they seem great value, and would only be ridden a dozen or so days a year unless I really get the bug 😀

iridebikes

Have a look at my classifieds ad, it could be of interest. Otherwise my experience of their wheels is they need tensioning a few times to get them right.

Andy

Premier Icon kayak23
    Subscriber