Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Solo holiday- trying something new?
  • alwillis

So me and mrs W have decided to treat each other to a long weekend(ish) solo holiday each, to do exactly as we please without compromise for the other person. No set budget, but trying to keep costs lower rather than luxury levels!

As an example the front runner for her is a few days trekking in the Atlas Mountains and exploring Marrakesh. Something I would do, but wouldn’t be anywhere near the top of my list.

So I’m now thinking of ideas-
    -a few days touring in the UK or Northern Europe
    -MTB in the Alps/Europe/Scotland (XC rather than enduro- think 120mm FS)
    -something I’m not good at, but would be fun- surfing, climbing and paddling all come to mind. I can do all 3 to a very basic level, but any suggestions of where is best to learn for a few days as a solo traveller?

What would you do STW?

jambourgie
    Free Member

A tour of the Amsterdam red light district obvs.

cb

Sea kayaking? Anglesey perhaps but other places available should that be too far. Something I always had my eye on for a solo trip. Haven’t made it yet!!

matt_outandabout

Spey Descent in Open Canoe.

Stainypants

Double post

Stainypants

I just did a week in the lakes mixture of biking, hiking and SUP boarding. During the week I barely saw a soul and the two campsites I stayed were dead except for Friday and Sat. Two of the rides I did were great two were out of my skill level but I didn’t put enough thought into them and should asked on here .

singletrackmind

Coverack windsurfing lesson staying in a hotel. On the lizard peninsula which is a fair schlep down but once your there its a very pleasant spot

thecaptain
    Free Member

Hang gliding. Did a little bit many years ago, amazing feeling when up in the air but too much time and money for me at the time. Perhaps a bit dangerous too. But there’s nothing quite like flying in the open air…

dyna-ti