Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Sleeping issues after riding
  • Mounty_73

I seem to be having problems with sleeping after nearly every ride, to the point it starting to put me off cycling.

My fitness is ok as I am quite active with both cycling and walking, I think?. Most of my rides are before 12pm and last up to 2 hours at a time, I’m only averaging around 15mph.

So not massive miles! lol. 2 hours is all I seem to be able to manage, time restraints.

I fall asleep quite easily, in bed by 10pm, but then I wake up in the early hours of the morning and that’s it, I then feel crap all day!

I drink plenty of water during and after the ride, so I dont think its dehydration.

Any help or advice would be appreciated, thanks.

jimmy

Either: do some gentle Yoga in the evening.

And / or, take a paracetamol or ibuprofen before bed.

Either should destress your muscles a bit and keep your body calm.

EDIT: I’m no doctor, jus from experience.

martymac

Or an old fashioned anti histamine.
    (Modern ones have a ‘non drowsy’ ingredient, you don’t want those)
    Tylenol pm is a brand in the us/Canada, there’s bound to be something similar in the uk.

n0b0dy0ftheg0at
    Free Member

If you are beasting yourself on those two hour rides and are doing them frequently, bad sleep could be a sign of overtraining.

bone_idle
    Free Member

I have this same issue and I found switching to decaff coffee made quite a difference, although its still a problem for me the caffeine definitetly exacerbates the issue.
    Everyones different but its helped for me. The longer I ride the worse I sleep feels like a hangover the next day.
    I used to get the same thing with windsurfing but worse as its more physical.

Anyway hope that helps

Mounty_73

The longer I ride the worse I sleep feels like a hangover the next day