Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Skoda Roomster, anyone got one?
  • twohats
    Free Member

Been looking at them 2nd hand to cart the kids around, they also look good for shoving bikes in too! Despite the oddball looks, most reviews on them seem positive.
    Anybody got one?

retrorick

I’ve got one, the scout version. Bought recently so no long term opinions yet. They were mentioned in a thread around xmas which brought them to my attention.

First thing i did was to see how many bikes i could get in it. With only the front wheels off i can get 2 mtbs in standing upright behind the passenger seat comfortably. I could probably get 3 bikes in and have 1 rear passenger seat at a squeeze. I made up an internal mount using some wood and 2 bike hitch fork mounts to stand them up. There are some fixed mount points in the footwells and boot to attach a ratchet strap to also.

They drive well (but i’m no expert on how other cars drive). The 1.9tdi i’ve got is returning around 50mpg on mainly urban roads with a bit of motorway. I am trying hard to gain this mpg though.

I bought from a skoda dealer which seemed like the best place to get one when i was looking. Mine also has a towbar and roof rails, don’t buy without the rails as i understand that it is impossible to fit a roof rack otherwise.

Happy? yes. Would i buy another? yes.

twohats
    Free Member

Are you getting the 2 bikes in with seats folded up or removed?

SammyC
    Free Member

Here’s a thread I started not that long ago:

http://singletrackworld.com/forum/topic/skoda-roomster-1

We decided to get a Ford Grand C-Max in the end as the main priority was more room for growing boys and the Roomster didn’t seem to give that as much as the Ford did.

As for the looks of the Roomster, I think if you get it in the right colour it can look quite funky.

MoreCashThanDash

We test drove one, may have already said this on the previous thread.