Skiing / Snowboarding holiday advice for absolute beginner please!

Home Forum Bike Forum Skiing / Snowboarding holiday advice for absolute beginner please!

Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 69 total)
  • Skiing / Snowboarding holiday advice for absolute beginner please!
  • Sue_W

OK, have never skied / boarded before, but would like to give it a go this winter. But there’s a confusing mass of information out there on t’interweb, and I don’t know where to begin!

There seems to be a fair few folks on here who ski / snowboard, so any advice would be welcome. Got some initial questions, but feel free to add any other info you have:

– Ski or snowboard? Which is easiest / best for an absolute beginner?(think bambi on ice impressions …)

– When to go? Christmas is appealling, as it would be a fun way to spend the festive period, but would January be better (quieter / cheaper / more likely to have snow)?

– Where to go? Good for beginners? Early snow if I go at christmas? Not really after the biggest party town as I’d rather focus on the skiing, but a nice bar or two would be good. Is Austria / Italy cheaper than France?

– What companies do ‘learn to ski / beginner’ weeks for solo guests? (Would be nice to share the holiday with a group of people who are also learning at the same time)

– Is it worth practicing the basics on a ski slope here (the one near me has a ‘perma snow’ slope and offers classes for beginners)? I know is apparently not the same as snow, but might it teach me the ‘how to put you skis on / basic moves etc?

Over to you guys for your pearly words of wisdom …

Ski.
    Avoid school holidays.
    Neilson are awesome for single folk, but their flights suck.
    Resort? Oh, man… can is open, worms everywhere! I’d always happily plug Serre Chevaliere. Excellent pistes for noobs, great fun without being OTT, no Russians, and you can use the awesome ski school at Ski Connections (Davina and her team are simply superb!)

jamiep