Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Shotover Country Park – Oxford
  • rusty
    Free Member

Hi

Thinking about going on Sunday, just wondering if it's worth the trip. I have heard that there are dh tracks and jumps, is this correct?

Also would I want to take 4x bike or full sus?

Thanks

mboy
    Free Member

have heard that there are dh tracks and jumps, is this correct?

If there are, then someone has been busy!

When I was a student in Oxford from 99-04 there was bugger all riding really. Shotover was enough to keep you interested for all of about 30 minutes or so…

How far would you be travelling from?

edd

I lived in Oxford for 4 years so rode there a lot. It really is a very small hill (in terms of elevation) so when people talk about DH tracks they're being a bit loose with the term. That said there is an incredible density of trails so plenty to keep you busy. Either bike would be fine. Careful on the weekend – there tends to be loads of walkers.

edd

mboy – I was there 2002-06… Did you ride with the OUCC mountain bikers (Oli and John) while you were there?

rusty
    Free Member

Cheers, would be coming from Reading so won't take long, just want to try a new place.

badnewz
    Free Member

Agree with Edd Shotover is worth a visit from Reading, has a fun loop, but minimal jumps and more freeride (light) than downhill. Also great views to the right over that beauty Didcot power station.

localhero94
    Free Member

Shotover is really not worth any kind of drive to. There is 1 bridlepath that you can officially ride and it's only a 20 minute loop. Anyone who says there is any 'downhill' there must have pretty low expectations – there is 1 vaguely downhill section and it's really not much cop. There is a very small jump area, but again it's very small.