Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Shorty vs Minion in the dry
  • AlexSimon

Going to Antur Stiniog tomorrow.

Currently have Ardent/Minion combo, but also have a Minion/Shorty combo that I could fit.

I have no experience of the Shorty – would it offer more grip/protection on dry slate?

sillyoldman

Not in my experience. Stick with the Minion – bigger contact patch on hard surfaces.

mboy
    Free Member

Shorty is designed to bite into softer surfaces, so probably not…

AlexSimon

That was my thinking too. More of a loam tyre.

I tried Minion/Minion when I first got the Aeris, but found it a bit weird that I couldn’t get the rear to step out, so I might just stick with the Ardent/Minion that I’ve run all summer (including Whistler).

Pawsy_Bear
    Free Member

Minion

edward2000
    Free Member

I use both. For Ffestiniog I would definitely take the minion as it’s pretty much all rock. The shorty is designed to dig into softer surfaces. I had an ugly crash at Cannock once, because my shorty just slid on the shiny peddled surface. Totally unexpected and I hurt my arm pretty bad. I knew the minion would have held on too.

AlexSimon

Thanks all!

sv

Used a Minion/Purgatory combo at Antur this time last month and it was perfect. Pity I didn’t have an Aeris though!

Northwind

Shorty is good on hard stuff for what it is but still not a patch on a minion for that, it’s open and shut. Minion or highroller are perfect antur tyres, shorty is perfect onpiste offpiste allsorts slippy death tyre

Though, I suppose the question isn’t quite that simple is it? It’s not shorty vs minion, it’s shortyminion vs minionardent. And tyre protection’s coming into it, since it’s antur. I’d still go minion/ardent unless it’s some racy ardent variant, if it’s a sensible one it’ll be grand.

AlexSimon

Yep – 2.25 Ardent EXO so should grand

gavstorie
    Free Member

shorty is skittish on gravel over hardpack and hardpack. Minion or HR2 is a better option.

deviant