Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Route mapping/recording
  • jjxray
    Free Member

First post so be gentle.
    Getting back into mountain biking after many years out of the saddle. I’ve found there are loads of apps and online resources for plotting/navigating/recording cycle routes. It’s all a bit overwhelming
    Ideally I would like to be able to have an audio turn by turn navigation of the route I’ve plotted or downloaded as I don’t want to be constantly getting my phone out.
    Im new to Strava, but have also looked at ride with GPS, view ranger and a cool online only resource Cycle.travel
    What do you guys do? It’s clear your can’t really get total functionality in a single app.

mikewsmith
    Free Member

If I want to follow a route then it’s the Garmin with the arrows on the device and a buzz when you go off route. In cities I’ve actually used Google maps sat nav to get me somewhere.

adzthename
    Free Member

I like to use STRAVA as it is generally reliable has been about for ever and has a big community as such. With a big community you get lots of recorded trails. I tried the paid full version but doesn’t add much to the MTB experience. I think its intended audience is the roadie crew.

jjxray
    Free Member

Cheers.
    I tried a variety at the weekend on a 28mile jaunt in wilts.
    I love cycle.travel for its ability to quickly create routes and export them in almost any format. It also has a neat ‘suggest a ride’ which throws up random routes over a specified distance. Downside is there’s no app.
    I tried cyclewithgps, which looks incredible but wants you to pay for almost every basic feature. It does have turn by turn voice though.
    From a recommendation on Strava I found bike tracker by pc ability on Google play store. It piggybacks off cyclewithgps and provides voice route guidance and progress for free! It really worked well even getting me back on track when I went wrong.