Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Road Bike advice
  • bash
    Free Member

I’ve been tempted into giving road riding a go by the Scott frame thread….you lot have a lot to answer for 😀

I’m torn between buying a second Hand 2012 Boardman Comp that looks to be in very good condition with probably less than 100 miles on it for £500 or whether to stretch my budget and go for the Scott CR1 pro frame (£500 on its own) and build it up, but end up with a better bike?

Is the Boardman worth the £500 and would I be wasting my money on the Scott as I’m a complete beginner to Road biking?

oldgit
    Free Member

Either really, 500 quid or nearly three times that.

Out of interest do those Scotts have replaceable hangers, mates didn’t and a slight snag at the start of a ride and the bike was ****ered. Still you’ll have a full warranty even buying that cheap

dantsw13

Boardman for me. If you want to upgrade later, you won’t lose much on it.

eshershore
    Free Member

@bash

always buy complete – you get much better value as the bike company is buying 1000’s of groupsets, wheels and finishing kits at heavily discounted “OE” pricing

when you buy a frameset and then try to put together a “custom build” you will always pay more, even when buying discounted parts off on-line resellers like CRC, Wiggle, Merlin, etc. and then having someone put it all together for you

we are soon to move into 2014 model year, if you can wait a month or two, you will soon start seeing heavy discounting on 2013 road models to clear, with full warranty and backup (free 1st service, etc.) from local and national dealers selling quality brands

whatnobeer
    Free Member

when you buy a frameset and then try to put together a “custom build” you will always pay more, even when buying discounted parts off on-line resellers like CRC, Wiggle, Merlin, etc. and then having someone put it all together for you