Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 78 total)
  • Returning to running in old age
  • martin_t
    Free Member

Since Christmas I have started running again after a 10 year break from running and pretty much any exercise (I am now 43). In the past, I was an okay runner (37 min 10k) and previously, whenever I came back after a break I could be running pretty close to my best after a relatively short period.

However, this time I am surprised how slowly I am running and how hard I am finding it. I am wondering if I am just old now and this is the new normal?
    … anyway I guess the really positive thing is I have been running injury free for a couple of months now and have gradually built up the mileage, running three times a week. I guess speed shouldn’t matter too much but I have always found it a good motivation.

Has anyone else returned to running after a long break? What was the come-back trajectory like? Any tips?

johndoh
    Free Member

I am 53 and it usually takes me about 3 months (only running once or twice a week) to get back to my ‘normal’ pace which is usually around 8m 30s mile pace for runs of up to 8 miles (longer than that and I drop to about 9m mile pace).

andrewh
    Free Member

a 10 year break from running

I am surprised how slowly I am running

I’m not surprised. Give it time, it will come, but will take a while.

yosemitepaul

I’m 61, and just got back after 18 months off due to a cartilage op. I think I’m not too far from where I used to be, maybe a bit slower, and certainly slower than when I was 31 or 41 but my attitude now is ‘who cares”!!……..I run for me not anyone else and I probably run further and faster than 95% of the UK population. I’ve never won a race and never will. If I knock a couple of seconds off yesterdays 10K then happy days. If I don’t then I might tomorrow!…………Its pouring with rain here at the moment and I’m off out now for my run!

dashed
    Free Member

43 is old age? I’m ****.

stcolin
    Free Member