Refurb laptop – are Morgan the go-to people?…

Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Refurb laptop – are Morgan the go-to people?…
  • As title!

My sister in law needs a replacement laptop and Morgan seem to offer some good deals.

She’s far from a power user and I was thinking of this, but it’s only Win7…

https://www.morgancomputers.co.uk/product_detail/15256/Lenovo-Thinkpad-T410-14-1-Laptop-i5-520M-2-4GHz-4GB-250GB-Win-7-Pro-No-WebCam/

The other thing she was thinking of was a HP Stream, but I have no experience of these.

Premier Icon wwaswas
    Subscriber

Win 7 support ends in 2020 – how long is she expecting it to last?

She doesn’t want Win7 as she’s used to Win10.

Can these be upgraded for free still, or is it now a paid-for upgrade?

Premier Icon wwaswas
    Subscriber

Paid for although softwaregeeks usually have some sort of deal going on and are pretty cheap.

mikewsmith

Is that  her hard budget?

Tiny hard drive (and spinning not SSD) low end of RAM for anything modern and an out of date OS

http://outlet.euro.dell.com/Online/InventorySearch.aspx?brandid=7&c=uk&cs=ukdfh1&l=en&s=dfh&frid=125

Some of the I3 Inspirons with 8Gb and 1Tb drives will be better (it’s an old I5 on that one – the 4xxx means 4th gen)

The dell stuff is basically unused in most cases

She could probably go to £200

Premier Icon Cougar
    Subscriber

Two things,

1) Windows 7 can be readily upgraded for free.

2) We’re throwing out T410s at work now, they’re yonks old.  I’m typing this on a T420 – its replacement – and that’s 2011 vintage.

ji

I have used Morgan and they are very good.

That laptop looks pretty decent for basic use actually – for comparison I am still using an old 2 series i5 running a whole 1.6Ghz and it is plenty decent as long as you don’t want major games. I have increased the RAM to 8gb and added an SSD – but the other identical one is not upgraded and still in daily use as a web surfer / Word / Excel machine.