• This topic has 17 replies, 13 voices, and was last updated 4 years ago by llama.
Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Recommend me a windproof jacket
  • molgrips
    Free Member

I want a pure windproof shell, not something with insulation (I have those already).

– relatively lightweight but not the thinnest
    – a bright colour available
    – rear pockets and roadie type cut
    – not silly money

Any suggestions?

weeksy

Mine doesn’t tick all your boxes so i won’t recommend it… but they’re honestly quite sweaty !!!! If they’re really windproof, they’re just anoraks.

Which is what mine is essentially, from Decathlon…. VERY effective, but DAMN obviously they don’t breathe at all.

molgrips
    Free Member

Mine doesn’t tick all your boxes so i won’t recommend it… but they’re honestly quite sweaty !!!! If they’re really windproof, they’re just anoraks.

I’ve been using them since ooh, 1995, both Pertex and soft shell types. They are obviously not 100% windproof, they let a small amount of air through which is why they are breathable. You have to appreciate that they are extremely effective when cycling – after all, the role of insulation is to trap air, and if the wind is blowing that away then you’ve got nothing – so it may just be that you are wearing too much insulation when using one. You need to far less insulation if you have a windproof on.

They breathe plenty well even when stationery. As evidenced by the steam pouring out of my clothes on the last night ride.

Nobeerinthefridge
    Free Member

Decathlon.

BadlyWiredDog

They breathe plenty well even when stationery. As evidenced by the steam pouring out of my clothes on the last night ride.