Recommend me a well paid part time job.

Home Forum Chat Forum Recommend me a well paid part time job.

Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Recommend me a well paid part time job.
  • I could do with working less hours as I could easily survive on less money.
    I’m a truck mechanic, but have no proper qualifications.
    Unfortunately, the transport industry is based around everyone doing 50+ hours a week.
    I’ve already agreed with my boss that I will do ~40 hours a week over 4 days, but there’s always something urgent comes up and I’m frequently doing more than that.

Looking at https://jobsearch.direct.gov.uk and elsewhere, it seems that all the skilled jobs that I’ve got any chance of getting, paying £10+ an hour, are 40 hours, plus overtime, plus Saturdays.
    All the part time jobs are ~£6 an hour delivering catalogues or driving the old folks minibus.

So, bit of a mini rant, why does no one in engineering or transport want to employ anyone semi retired, or even 1/4 retired ?

Any suggestions for what I could do ?
    I’ve been searching and can’t find anything suitable.

Premier Icon wwaswas
    Subscriber

Find someone willing to do the other 1/4, 1/3 or 1/2 of the work you’re not and present yourselves as a job share to prospective employers?

Pigface
    slackalice

How about becoming an Assessor?

Your field of expertise and experience would lend itself well to the various apprenticeships and NVQ’s.

There are plenty of training companies that operate nationwide and if your over 24 there is a course fee funding scheme called 24+, from what you’ve posted! you may well be eligible.