Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Recommend me a 29er hardtail frame
  • fd3chris
    Free Member

Hi guys I sold my old stanton sherpa and wish I hadn’t. So looking for something similar but with a 142mm rear end. Hopefully a similar ride as I thought the stanton was excellent. Cheers.

km79
    Free Member

Another Sherpa. New one takes 12×142.

https://www.stantonbikes.com/product/sherpa-853-next-gen/

fd3chris
    Free Member

I’ve looked at them and I’m struggling to pay £700 for one. Maybe the urge to get something totally new is more the issue.

balfa
    Free Member

I went thru this recently. If you want cheaper frames have a look at Zealous, ragley, Nukeoroof, Dartmoor, NS bikes, Octane, alpkit etc. None of them were that big in my size so I blew the budget and went for a Santa Cruz Chameleon.

oldnpastit

In the spirit of ignoring everything the OP has already said: another Stanton Sherpa.

z1ppy

Worth a punt?
    details I’ve no experience of the frame but it was suggested in an earlier thread and is cheap as chips

crashrash

Might find an old solaris 2 – great frame, or save up for the Stanton!

andykirk
    Free Member

That Octane One Prone looks great! Cheap as chips as well. Anybody have one?

fd3chris
    Free Member

I think it might well be a production privee gt as I have a shan and I like the build and paint. Anyone got one?

davidtaylforth
    Free Member

It’s a seven hundred quid steel hardtail painted to look like a 1980s racing car, so it instantly marks you out as a MAMIL with more money than sense. You couldn’t pay me to ride one, afterall, mountain biking is about riding in both comfort and style.

That Octane One must be worth a go for the money, or Bird Bikes’ll probably have something decent.

thestabiliser
    Free Member

Onza payoff is similar but half the price

fd3chris
    Free Member