Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Recommend a good running shoe for both tarmac and trail
  • stewartc
    Free Member

As above, looking to do a little more trail running for the new year and I am finding my trusty New Balance RC1400 are a little uncomfortable on the rocky hard trail here. Is there a running shoe that’s good for both general road running and hitting the trail, I’m not a pro just need something hard wearing and comfortable (not fussed about any wet weather properties)?

amplebrew

I’ve found Nike Pegasus to be a good shoe.

piemonster

Salomon XR crossmax

mogrim

Do you usually mix trail and road on the same run? If not, just get some trail shoes and depending on what you’re planning on doing wear one pair or the other.

I’ve used my La Sportiva Raptors on road, although only when doing the linking bits between trails – they work fine, but the sole wouldn’t last long if I were doing serious road milage with them.

convert

I use the Inov8 Terrafly 313. I have other shoes for muddy trail running and pure road running but when I’m doing a bit of both in the same run or the trails are hard and dusty or I’m running on boggin mucky wet country roads out come the terraflys.

Through Amazon they can also be had for half price too if they happen to have your size.

stewartc
    Free Member

Cheers for the feedback. Going to be running a mix as most trail runs for me involve a few k’s of tarmac, plus tend to run a simple pre-breakfast 5k road run in the mornings.

surfer
    Free Member

As someone who runs and races on most surfaces (although not much track of recent years :() why do people insist on recommending aggressive Fell shoes for trail and xc running. As above, Pegasus would be a good mix of cushioning, support and grip, plus a bit cheaper and likely to be more robust than a studded fell shoe.

alanf
    Free Member

Brooks Cascadia (7) are my go to trail/tarmac shoe.