Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 48 total)
  • Reasoning with a 10 month old.. (nappy changing content)
  • nickewen
    Free Member

This is my first time exploring the wisdom of the hive mind for parenting.. so bear with me..

Our daughter is 10 months old and ever since she has been able to roll over and more recently crawl (faster than I had imagined!) trying to change her is an absolute mission and a half.. We’ve tried a few things but distraction seems to have been working up to now.. give her a toy (something she hasn’t played with before/much) and try to buy 30 seconds to swap the nappy..

However, at the moment you get about 1 second before she twists/rolls over/crawls off/etc. Took me over 10 mins this morning before going out for work.. it’s at the stage now where it’s a two person job. If it’s a number 1 then it’s manageable but number 2s are a different matter..

Obviously trying to reason with a small baby is not going to work.. if she just stayed still for a minute it would all be done and dusted without the crying and me trying to restrain her!

Any tips, tricks, things that have worked with your kids?

My wife is at her wits end being the main nappy changer on mat leave.

Cheers
    Nick

timidwheeler

Duct tape?

beaker

I don’t think you can do much other than what you are doing. Keep at it, she’ll get the message eventually. Beaker Jr pretty much from day one cried having a bath until he was about 18 months. What can you do? Before long she’ll twig that have soggy dirty bits isn’t fun and will asking to be changed….

nickewen
    Free Member

It’s that bad I had considered it!

mashr

As much as tech at 10 months is too soon……. Super Simple Songs, on your phone.

Oh, and the massive wriggly phase will probably pass when she realises she gets freedom sooner just by being still(ish) for a minute……….. it also might return in future (v1 was 15 months when he decided for a while that he absolutely did ****ing not want to get his nappy changed!)