Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Re-tensioning wheels?
  • butterbean
    Free Member

So, in the aftermath of the Mega, i’m getting round to giving the bikes a good once over.

It’s come to light that my wheels (let alone my body) couldn’t cope with some of the shocking line choices I exhibited and I have a rear wheel which appears to be true (both side to side and up & down) but has a few loose spokes in it.

I’ve tried a nosey at the Sheldon Brown site, and my Google Fu appears to be lacking today as I can’t find much about re-truing wheels.

As the wheel is effectively still true, it is just a case of bringing the loose spokes back up to tension? (albeit slowly) Being a luddite and having never tried to built a wheel, I obviously don’t want to pull it out of true by doing something stupid…

MarkyG82

Done this a few times. I’m by no means a pro wheel builder but have worked in a coule of shops where I built up a few and trued a few more.

Get comfortable with a beer and a spoke key, start with the loose spokes and go maybe a 1/4 turn on each Repeat untill they are at a happy place.

The main thing as you have guessed is constant checking of the trueness (sp?) as you go.

It could be a couple of heavy hits have stretched the spokes and/or seated them more firmly.

shouldn’t be anything to worry about.

Good luck
    🙂

butterbean
    Free Member

Sounds fairly simple then, i’ve already checked the ‘trueness’ and it’s fine, my main concern is messing that up by not really understanding what i’m doing.

By what you have said it would seem if I slowly bring the offending spokes back up to tension I shouldn’t do anything silly.

Maybe i’m being tight but it seems silly to drop it into the bike shop for something like this if I can sort it myself in front of the telly one evening.

I’ll get started tomorrow night!

DezB
    Free Member

it seems silly to drop it into the bike shop for something like this