Viewing 33 posts - 1 through 33 (of 33 total)
  • Rate my LBS…
  • p7rich
    Free Member

Just had a broken straight-pull spoke on an XT mtb wheel replaced at my LBS. Didn’t look at the repair until i got it home as was in a rush. The spoke they have used is not the same as the rest (it has a slot in the end of the hub end bobble bit and the rest don’t) and sticks a mm or two out the back of the socket the SP head sits in. All the rest of the spokes sit flush in their socket (hub end again). At the rim end the thread is more exposed than pretty much all the others.

Looks to me like they’ve tried to fit the wrong spoke…but i’m no expert. It just looks *wrong* to me. Planning to take it back tmrw but wondered what bods here think?? They have replaced a spoke on another wheel before but it was a normal J spoke and repair was fine. They knew it was SP before i booked it in and said it was no problem.

I add some photos tomorrow so you can see what i mean.

p7rich
    Free Member

bencooper
    Free Member

It might not be a perfect match, but if it works it’ll be fine.

Ladders
    Free Member

Maybe as the wheel was covered in dirt when you took it in (?) they thought you wouldn’t be that picky?

Mantastic
    Free Member

Personally I would drop my bike off a bit cleaner, tend to get more respect from mechanics

hatter

Personally I’d rate them pretty highly for having a suitable spoke in stock, many shops would have taken one look at that and said you’d have had to buy a whole box of straight pull spokes so they could do a repair.

From the shop’s perspective this is awkward but understandable, straight pull spokes are still pretty unusual and few shops would want to spend £50+ on a box of spokes that they’re unlikely to ever use again in order to carry out a £15 repair.

Top marks for getting you rolling again at a minimal cost, if you’re that worried about the appearance of your bike… clean it!

trail_rat
    Free Member