Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Quick question for the metalworkers; working with sheet 304 stainless steel…
  • househusband

…using hand tools (tin snips, hacksaws, pillar drill, files) by secondary school age pupils..?! I’m hoping to do a wee project with a third year (13/14yo) class; I’d need to either blag (town does have several metal fab places) or buy some sheet stainless but it isn’t something we have and I’ve never worked with it at all before.

(Before you ask it’s a pizza cutter; would like to make one they can actually use rather than just a model.)

marcus7
    Free Member

Get yourself to a stainless steel fabricator for and off cut, they (usually) are pretty good at that sort of thing and may even be able to supply you with it cropped to the right sort of size. Stainless is in my experience no more difficult than mild unless is a high end blend (we use stuff here that is a nightmare due to its hardness. Another idea is to get hold of an old stainless steel sink and recycle the bowl! the metal wont be high grade and it would be a good project for the kids!

thepodge
    Free Member

Where you based? You can have access to our scrap bin if I ask nicely

Milkie
    Free Member

A circular pizza cutter? and are you just making the handle and buying in the blades? I wouldn’t like to give a bunch of 13/14yo a straight blade with a curved cutting edge?

antigee

another way to approach would be to go a bit more high tech – one co’ I worked for several years ago did some stuff with a local college as part of our commitment to the local community and training – showed students how we used cad cam to extract stuff from customers drawings then nested components to laser cut with least waste think we used to send the students home with a laser cut out of their name

not saying many companies would be up for it but if not to open ended time and cost wise might be – look under laser cutters

cp