Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Putoline removal
  • murdooverthehill

I’ve been using Putoline on my road bike for a couple of years and whilst it is damned good stuff I fancy a change as I’m getting a bit fed up with the black mess. Any advice as to how to clean the chain before I try out (and contaminate?) the Silca stuff I’m thinking about experimenting with?

MoreCashThanDash

Disappointed this doesn’t involve a cat…

tjagain

Any sort of solvent should do – even petrol.  Detergents are not enough

Onzadog
    Free Member

I have a similar thought but it’s Smoove that I’d like to remove. Thought I’d managed it, but it’s still turning white spirit slightly yellow.

I was considering boiling the chain in water to try and melt the wax off

Seems the wax base of Smoove isn’t compatible with the Silca or MSW stuff.

fossy

New chain, less faff.

thisisnotaspoon
    Free Member

White spirit does the job, just stick it in a big jam jar and shake.

Onzadog
    Free Member

Guess I just need more cycles…

…of white spirit jam jar jiggery

jeffl

Petrol and set it on fire.

Good luck.

Ambrose

Mrs Ambrose is at work today. I am not. Having cleaned a bunch of old chains as best I can using white spirit and then hot detergent (Fairy liquid) I’ve now put them in the dishwasher on its most intense cycle. We shall see what happens!

The chains are never going on a bike again, I do need them for something else though.

mattsccm
    Free Member

I just use the same technique when I am re greasing it. Swill it around in some petrol, maybe brushing, until iy looks clean then chuck it in the ultrasonic cleaner.

Brainflex

Boil it in hot water with  dishwasher powder in for 10 mins, rinse off under the hot water tap n hang to dry.

Northwind