Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • PSA 480gb SSD for £40
  • flyingmonkeycorps

Still gutted I missed out on the MX500/960gb for 80 quid a couple of weeks ago. This looks like a decent price though.

JAG

I am not an IT Expert :o)

…but I’m aware you chaps may be so I want to ask you a few questions.

Question; can I buy this and just swop it for the old style hard drive in my old laptop?

Question; will that lead to a faster operating laptop?

Question; any other risks/opportunities I need to be aware of before doing this?

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    retro83
    Free Member

1. if your laptop uses a sata disk (if it’s under 10 years old), yes
    2. yes, very much so
    3. yes, you will need a way of copying the operating system and your files across to the ssd, e.g. EaseUS and some method of attaching the disk whilst you do so. e.g. a USB sata adapter

Mounty_73

Yes if its SATA.

Yes the SSD drives are very fast and they will bring slower laptops back to life, IMO.

Yes, get some software to clone the SATA drive to the SSD, AOMEI is very good.

JAG

Thank You all

I will research a little further and MAY do this :o)

paul4stones

Well worth it.

stumpy01

I recently bought a 500gb Crucial SSD from ebuyer for my ageing laptop – can’t remember if I bought it in late 2011 or early 2012.

I used the Windows media creation tool to create a Win10 bootable USB stick & put a fresh copy of Windows10 onto the new SSD.
    Boot time on this laptop from off to being usable is around 26 seconds, including the time it takes me to put my password in and hit enter….

I would definitely recommend a fresh install if you have had your laptop a while. Just make sure you have a way of getting any specific programs back onto the machine and back-up your data.

thisisnotaspoon
    Free Member