Viewing 28 posts - 1 through 28 (of 28 total)
  • Preferred type of bike carrier.
  • alongo
    Free Member

Wife seems up for a bit of pooling around on trails, disused railways etc, so I have bought her a hybrid. Not sure weather to get a roof bar mounted bike rack or have a tow bar fitted and have a towbar version. Car is a Renault Kadjar and although I could get them inside I’d prefer not to. What’s your preferred type of bike carrier .

scotroutes

If it was roof mounted, would your wife be happy lifting her bike on and off what is quite a tall vehicle?

I much prefer towbar, despite the outlay of fitting. Fuel consumption is a bit better, less chance of hitting low barriers (can be an issue at some car parks), easier loading and unloading, particularly with muddy bikes.

(I’ve been working for a few years doing a bike taxi service, carrying lots and lots of bikes on both racks and roof.)

winston
    Free Member

Short journeys with up to 2 bikes I prefer roofmounted. Why? The racks are always on the car, all my bikes are light and the bikes don’t touch at all.

Longer journeys or more than 2 bikes it’s a towbar job. Better fuel economy and you can spend time making them very secure for fast motorway driving.

ads678

Tow ball. Just moar betterer innit.

oldnpastit

Tow bar all the way.

pdw
    Free Member

I use both fairly regularly.

* Getting more than two bikes on a tow bar rack can be a PITA. The spacing between bikes is generally very tight, and threading the support arms through can be very tricky. If you’re always taking the same bikes, this is less of an issue, because you just need to get it sorted once.
    * Fuel consumption on tow bar is a bit better, and no annoying whistling.
    * Tow bar rack can be fitted/removed very quickly, whereas multiple bike racks on a roof rack is either a heavy two-person job to lift on and off, or a faff to assemble/disassemble.