• This topic has 26 replies, 14 voices, and was last updated 1 year ago by steveb.
Viewing 27 posts - 1 through 27 (of 27 total)
  • Possibly the most flukiest bit of DIY I’ve ever done…
  • DrP

You may or may NOT have been aware of the saga of my house purchase… anyway..it all went ahead in the end and have been there nearly 3 weeks now..
    Obvs LOTS of jobs to do… move, build furniture etc…

OH wanted a few new plugs put into a wall that would require a bit of drilling/chasing etc.. a job i’ve never done before into masonary..

On this image you can see the location of the original plug I was going to spur off off…

I was going to simply drill through the wall (on theleft) and come out somewhere, then chase around into the socket.
    Then I wondered if i could measure out accurately, and drill accurately, and come out ‘nearish’ the socket…

Well….
    From here:

To here:

BOOM!!!

Obviously it’s what I was aiming for, but TBH I was mega surprised I actually hit the target with a 1m long masonary drill bit on a heavy SDS drill~!!!!
    I was sooo excited I rang my Dad to share!!

Anyway… I felt like a sniper with an SDS drill over the weekend!!

Here’s my final attempt as chasing out the brickwork for the new plug…not too bad for a first attempt!

DrP

fadda

I love it when stuff like this happens!

(but your last photo may not be the one you intended, there…)

Edit: that’s better!

thestabiliser
    Free Member

It’ll be a few days before the smell from the hidden soil pipe you’ve drilled through hits home

didnthurt

Nice bit of raggling, the drilling was obviously a fluke 😉👍

leffeboy

did you just eyeball the angle/direction or did you overthink it in some way? (which is what I would have ended up doing and taking 10 times longer)

thepurist

Well done – for your next job how about building a shoe rack that’s big enough for all your shoes 😀

PS – assume you are absolutely, positively, 100% sure that none of those wiggly wires were in the way of the drill?