Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • playing the piano?
  • iDave
    Free Member

anyone self taught? i have a good ear for music but can’t read manuscripts and can play guitar. I just want to bash chords with left hand and scales with right. how hard can it be? should I buy a proper old piano or a pretend electric one?

Bedds
    Free Member

to be honest Dave, it depends what you want, you don’t get the ‘feel’ by playing an electic piano, but the sound these days is beautiful.. you’ve also not got the arse ache of tuning / retuning each time it gets moved. My music teacher back in the day bought himself one and if you had your eyes closed you couldn’t tell the difference, getting a good one I imagine you would probably have to pay more for a ‘real’ than electric?

how difficult ? well I guess it depends how quickly you learn and how good your co-ordination is, I never struggled with chords, but playing melodies with both hands in the more technical pieces took some head scratching!, it’s a skill I guess, after a few years of learning and practice I got to sight read both staves.. doubt I’d manage that nowadays though 🙂

deadlydarcy
    Free Member

I thought this was going to be about rock climbing. 😐

I reckon you’d struggle at your age – I played lots as a kid and I can’t make the stretches now if I sit down and try to play. Try something easier, like the bagpipes.

racefaceec90

to give you some inspiration 😉 [video]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gfsgXJQ0ebU[/video] remember to look whistfully into the audience every now and them. personally i would get a synth and learn some vangellis.but good luck either way.

seosamh77
    Free Member