Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Photo editing software
  • lunge

I’m starting to use my DSLR a lot more now and I see a lot of talk on editing software and wondered what the photographers of STW like? I’ve been suggested Adobe Lightroom, is that a reasonable place to start?

Alphabet

I’ve been using Lightroom for many years and really like it. I now have an Adobe Creative Cloud account for photographers which is £10 per month and gives me Photoshop as well as Lightroom. It allows me to install copies on my home PC as well as my laptop.

DrJ

I have stopped using Adobe s/w – I prefer CaptureOne to Lightroom and Affinity Photo is a good Photoshop replacement.

ampthill

I love lightroom but have a feeling it’s subscription only. Although that might work for you. Lightroom is a posh RAW converter and photo library. I think you can still get 30 days free trial.

Photoshop Elements is cheaper. But probably less useful as the RAW converter is more limited. But if your editing jpg it will be fine

I also hear good things about Affinity photo

sarawak
    Free Member

Depends what you want to do or spend.
    Lightroom is basically a RAW converter, but if you only shoot JPEG then that is no use to you. It is also a cataloguing system. If you tag and label your photos to within an inch of their life then it is worth it. Otherwise just store them in a folder in Windows in date order with a descriptive suffix. Lightroom does have a limited photo editing ability but this wont allow you to do major manipulations.

If you are into serious image management then you really need CC, but that’s not what I’d call cheap unless you are using it regularly for intensive work.

Elements is a stand alone, cut down amalgamation of both LR and CC. It is exceptional value for money for the interested, but not obsessive photographer.

Beware of internet sellers offering Adobe products for chicken feed. They are ALL dodgy. Don’t touch them with your worst enemy’s bargepole.