parent’s perspective / experience needed, child hurting themselves to “punish”

Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • parent’s perspective / experience needed, child hurting themselves to “punish”
  • cranberry

I have no experience of raising kids/ being a parent.

Was out with my friend and his 7 year old son yesterday. It was Bunkerdag in Holland and we were going to look around sites from the Atlantic Wall.

First game – being first to spot a bunker, I happened to see one first. Lad lied and said that he had seen the bunker first but hadn’t said anything, he frequently lies about things and gets into a huff if called on it.

Playing I Spy in the car and the lad was coming up with random stuff that wasn’t visible. How to play the rules was explained, and over and over he did the same thing, to the point we said we weren’t playing with him, as he was cheating and it wasn’t fair if no one but him could win. We relented after a few minutes, where upon he did exactly the thing that had been explained was wrong.  We both refused to play and he declared that he was going to hurt himself to punish his dad for not playing/ not letting him cheat.

This happens as we drive into the gravel car park of our destination, he gets out of the car and starts throwing himself down on the ground, in a wrestling-style, landing on his side. This is done 4 or 5 times, I simply walked away and said nothing.

He can seem happy at times, but his mum suffers from depression and has tried to keep him back/dependent on her. At the age of 7 he can’t really use a knife and fork, for example ( “he’s only 7 you can’t expect him to do that” ) Her behaviour that I’ve experienced matches the symptoms of opposition defiance disorder. The actually trying to hurt himself I haven’t experienced before and it shook me.

Am I overreacting, is this not abnormal, WWSTWD ?

Premier Icon bedmaker
    Subscriber

<i>Kids do weird stuff.  He’ll most likely grow out of it.</i>