• This topic has 9 replies, 8 voices, and was last updated 6 years ago by adsh.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Overcoming Viral illness
  • adsh
    Free Member

This time last year I had got ill with a virus that took nearly a month to get over. I started riding gently at day 19 and after 10 days was back on form.
    Fast forward a year and I have another viral illness I cannot kick. Glands, vague nausea, aching neck and very little energy. By the afternoon I’m shattered. I’m sleeping 8hrs a day, not exercising, WFH only a half day etc, eating well, not drinking. Most exercise I’ve done is walk a couple of hundred metres. It’s day 20 and I’m no better than day 10. I am so pissed off I’m tempted to bimble on my bike to at least improve my mood.

scud
    Free Member

Totally feel your pain, i stupidly decided to give up car for a year and rode 36-56 miles day to and from work, except all i did was ride myself into chronic fatigue and now struggle to ride a bike more than 20 miles and get out of breath climbing stairs, i have to have a “pre-sleep” on the sofa at 8.30pm before then climbing into bed feeling grotty.

Hate looking outside at the weather and not being able to take advantage of it.

Mood wise, i am lucky to live near beautiful coast line, so will bimble on bike to the coast about 12 miles, and bivvy overlooking the beach, does wonders!

Kryton57

Day 20? Seriously ADSH, get to the docs. It may not be viral but biological and is bubbling around you’re bloodstream. In addition your immune system will be low and you’ll be exposed to got know what else.

edit: I know this sounds a bit rich coming from me, but I just rode my strongest 90 minutes this year after listening to people and doing bugger all for 3.5 weeks – although I did struggle with the inactivity to be fair I now see the benefit.

adsh
    Free Member