Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • Oscillating multitools and other new fangled power tools.
  • midlifecrashes

After a leaky shower, I’m patching up and have a load of tile grout to rake out, and some new flooring to lay, and a bunch of general woodwork around it too. Google suggests a multitool is the way to degrout with the least faff these days. I’m happy to be told differently if you know better, but otherwise I think I’m going to splash out on a multitool with a bunch of blades, it seems they can do everything but espresso.

On a tangent, my toolbox is pretty traditional, drills, jigsaw, circular saw, sander, angle grinder etc. Which of the new range of tools has made the biggest impact on your work, rail saws, small diameter plunging circular saws, joint cutters all come to mind. I’m no expert at anything, but renovating my own place and keeping on top of a handful of rental properties, I end up doing a lot of differnt jobs, but not very often.

mick_r

The oscillating saws are amazing for those hard to do oddball jobs:- Removing small sections of floorboards without trashing them or making a mess.

Cutting across boards midway over a joist (so refitted board has something to sit on).

Trimming a bit off doorframes so floor covering can go right under.

Cutting a copper pipe deep inside the toilet cistern to fit a new ballcock without totally stripping and splitting the toilet.

I’ve used it for grout before – just be careful as tungsten carbide blade will cut into edges of tiles just as easily as it will cut grout….

captain_bastard
    Free Member

aside from my Fluke multimeter and hand tools

Impact driver (really, how did we manage!)
    Laser level, useful in more ways than you’d think
    SDS drill
    multitool – yup, i use mine a lot, but never for a specific job, more working round bits and bobs