Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • On State Funerals…
  • scotroutes

Will Prince Philip get one? I was just thinking we could end up with three in relatively quick succession (did you see what I did there?)

kcal

off cuff response, I’d imagine so. I am not a royal protocol expert however…

wanmankylung
    Free Member

Greece will pay for it using German money.

scotroutes

I was thinking we might have got a “3 for the price of 2” type deal.

mefty
    Free Member

probably not – more likely to be ceremonial funeral like queen mother, diana and Margaret Thatcher.

ninfan
    Free Member

Greece will pay for it using German money.

why? Phil has been a British subject since birth

RustySpanner

Why not give him a state funeral?

No fan of the royals but the lad’s put in a hell of a shift.

P-Jay
    Free Member

No, or at least probably not – he’s requested not to lay in state or to “have a big fuss” so it’ll be reasonably private I’d guess.

Liz won’t get the choice of course – but we might get 2 days off work, one for the funeral and one for the coronation.

Coyote
    Free Member

Parasites.

mefty
    Free Member

No, or at least probably not – he’s requested not to lay in state or to “have a big fuss” so it’ll be reasonably private I’d guess.

I am sure there will be a ceremonial one, probably with the gun carriage pulled by Naval ratings, as for Mountbatten, to signify his significant Naval service – this is normally reserved for full state funerals.

RustySpanner

Coyote – Member
    Parasites.

I quite agree.
    🙂

But I look at it like this;
    If I ever met the silly old sod in the pub, I’d love to buy him a pint and listen to a few tales.

So, a pint.
    Call it £3.00.

I’d be ok if a minute amount of my tax were to go toward a posh do.
    Prefer for them to pay for it themselves though.
    😀

scaredypants

I hope so

fancy an extra day off work 😉

scotroutes

The inheritance tax should be enough to pay for a wee knees up?