Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • On One Fatty as a replacement for a singlespeed.
  • woollybackpaul
    Free Member

My finger is hovering over the buy button for the rolling chassis, I’ve ridden one (cheers again John) and thought it was great fun.

So, what do i need to know?

It would be a replacement for a singlespeed Ragley Piglet, it therefore needs to be a good Winter training bike – ie, minimum maintenance when the foot deep slop returns. Probably wont see too much sand or snow just local trails and the odd trail centre.

Anyone else swapped a SS for a Fatty?

From the list of bits that are needed to complete the build I’d just need a headset (smoothie seems the obvious choice), BB and cranks – anyone got any experience of the Race Face ones?

I’ll be going 2X9 to start with simply because that’s what’s in my spares box – any issues running a front mech?

Anything else I need to know?

scotroutes

I’ve been using the RF Atlas cranks for almost 2 years on my 907. No problems to report, though the BB is beginning to sound a bit rumbly. Replacement bearings are available so I’ll likely knock some in before winter.

There is a UK Fatbike forum where you will likely find the answers to all your questions.

woollybackpaul
    Free Member

Cheers Scot, sounds like Race Ace cranks are a decent bet.

Anyone else? Posted on here rather than the fat bike forum as I’d like to hear the downside of fat bikes too.

scotroutes

Downside? All your other bikes will gather cobwebs.

chainslapp
    Free Member

What size are you going for Paul?

monkeyp