Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Numpty tax question
  • rickmeister

Quick point of clarity please as its my first year of self employed tax declaration.

Sole trader, VAT reg

I have two accounts for my business, one for paying stuff into, one as a vat stash so I can pay that straight away when I need to.

If the nominal figures for earnings are 100 units, I carve off 20 units into my vat account leaving me with 80 units in the business account.

Over the year I have “paid” myself 40 units into a shared account with my partner for day to day, bills etc etc.

So paid in 100
    Vat 20
    Pay 50 (but a % of this will be the first tax free allowance, I know)
    Left in biz acc 30

Am I paying tax on 100, 80 or 50 ?

Or is it not that simple… I am a bit gripped as to how much I may have to pay…. and the 50% of the next year was a bit of a surprise too..

Thanks

jockhaggis
    Free Member

I’m fairly sure as a Sole Trader it all counts as earnings no matter if you leave it in a business account or move it into a personal account. So it will be business income minus outgoings, i.e. any purchases or expenses. So the simple answer is that you will pay tax on roughly the 80%.

However, it’s not really that simple. 😕

VAT on income can be cancelled out against business purchases which include VAT. Also you will pay NI which is deductible against the 80% figure above. Also any expenses incurred in the business will be deductible against the 80%, this can be anything used or purchased for the business.

So the ‘not so simple’ answer is non of your figures above but probably somewhere between 50 and 80.

Do you have an accountant? I would get one as they can give you advice and do your end of year tax return and they can save you more money than they cost. You don’t want to end up in a pickle with the HMRC. 😀

stimpy
    Free Member

I’m no tax accountant but I am a VAT registered sole trader.

Your maths in your example are wrong.